Indian Constitution

Key Features
  1. Federalism: It is the process by which two or more governments (central+state) share powers over the same geographic area.
  2. Parliamentary Form: The different tiers of government consist of representatives who elected by the people.
  3. Separation of Powers: According to constitution, there are three organs of government.
    • Legislature: Refers to our elected representatives.
    • Executive: A smaller group of people who are responsible for implementing laws and running the government.
    • Judiciary: Refers to the system of courts in India.
  4. Fundamental Rights:
    • Right to Equality: All persons are equal before the law.
    • Right to Freedom: Includes right to freedom of speech and expression, the right to form associations, the right to move freely and reside in any part of the country, and the right to practice any profession, occupation or business.
    • Right against Exploitation: Prohibits human trafficking, forced labor and employment of children under 14 years of age.
    • Right to Freedom of Religion: Religious freedom provided to all citizens.
    • Cultural and Educational Rights: All minorities, religious or linguistic, can set up their own educational institutions in order to preserve and develop their own culture.
    • Right to Constitutional Remedies: Allows citizens to move the court if they believe that any of their fundamental rights have been violated by the State.
  5. Secularism: A secular state is one in which the state does not officially promote any one religion as the state religion.
  • Manabendra Nath Roy's (MN Roy) demand and call for formation of a constituent assembly 1934.
  • Nehru's call for formation of an independent constituent assembly 1938.